And a new quarter begins

March 13, 2007

This is one of the things that I find to be a negative of going to RIT for school. Pretty much everyone I know from back home is now currently on break, while I get to start the third quarter of classes here. It kinda sucks.

Also, does the first week suck for anyone else? Not in a “holycraptoomuchworki’mgoingtodie” type of suck (that’ll happen plenty later” but more of a “i’mboredclassesareboringwhattodowhattodo”. I’m in the second state of mind right now, but maybe that’s just me. I’m not a big fan of idling, but I guess I just need to enjoy it while it’s here.

I wish I had a more technical topic to talk about. That keeps me from progressing into any emo-type downward spiral of blogging with I plan to avoid like the plague. Oh, I’ve got one.

I’ve been working on a Mac recently and have noticed a bunch of differences between the Windows environment and the Mac OSX environment. Most of these changes are large, but they’re fairly easy to get used too. I’m actually enjoying a good amount of the functionality that the OS provides. It does seem to do a good deal of things in a more power-user type way, whereas Windows (in my eyes) seems to want to hold your hand most of the way.

Also, after working with the Solaris machines in the CS department for so long, I really can’t seem to function on a computer well without a terminal. I understand the Windows now has some “Powershell” type program, but I have yet to use it. I hear it’s functionality resembles that of the Bourne-Again shell, which is wonderful, but again, I haven’t had the chance to use it. Anyone who has, feel free to comment and tell me what it’s like.

The little thing that bugs me about the Mac is that it seems that almost all of the functionality of the “control” key in windows is switched to the “Apple” key on the Mac. Now, mind you, there still is a “Control” key on the standard Mac keyboard. I can’t really think of a good reason for this, other then that since OSX is UNIX based, utilizing the “Control” key could get a bit hairy (Especially with using “Ctrl C” to copy, which is the UNIX command to kill a running process, for those who don’t know).

Oh, and to my knowledge Macs don’t have a real “Lock Screen” ability like Windows. I do enjoy being able to hit “Window – L” on my Windows machine and locking the screen and leaving. That’s nice. I can’t seem to find an equivalent function on the Mac, which makes me a tad upset. All of the Linux distros I’ve used (Well… Ubuntu) and also Solaris have this, so why can’t the Mac? Although, it could be a little hidden function that I’m completely missing.

Anyhow, that’s all I really got. Passed the second Amazon interview, and now I get a third and final Phone Interview (It’s final, the e-mail I got even said “Final phone interview”) which is kinda exciting. Wish me luck.

Leave a Reply

