I didn’t feel like sleeping tonight anyway

April 3, 2007

Disclaimer: This entry is really about nothing. I’m just rambling.

Well, let’s see. It’s about 1 o’clock in the morning, I’ve got class at 8, and I honestly couldn’t care less. Even have that? Long day tomorrow too.

Super.

What can I muse on…. I dunno. Added a bunch of links to my blogroll on this site. Those of you viewing this on facebook, come on over to my official blog site at gatacoma.wordpress.com. I’ll be glad you did. Leave a comment or two.

No one ever comments. I wish they would. It’d be coo’.

I’ve been reading a lot of webcomics lately, things like XKCD. I’ll put a more formal list of places on the interblag (XKCD reference) later, in a dedicated post to it.

I don’t like the circuits 1 lab report format. It’s really long and painful to write. Took me most of Sunday afternoon to complete it. Maybe it was because it was two weeks worth of lab, or maybe it was just because I haven’t done one in the “Tech memo” format before. I dunno.

I still like C. I want to do more in it, I just don’t have the time. I kinda missed getting Segmentation faults, Bus Errors, and the Core Dumps that go along with them. I missed them in a sick, sadistic kinda way. But I still missed them.

I don’t really hate Java. I think it can be bloated, but I’m not experienced enough to really call it a “bad” language. I’ve worked with it for over a year now and am very familiar with it, and I think that kinda eschews my opinion of it.

I wonder if any of my potential employers look at this. That’d be interesting. I try to keep the topics at least a little interesting and techy and such. I’m a nerd, I don’t hide it.

Embrace who you are, whether it be nerd, jock, or whatever social group you are apart of. I like nerdy stuff, I admit it, and wouldn’t have it any other way.

Seriously, go check out some of the other blogs on my blogroll. They’re all smart people (Except for John). Hear me John? I’m calling you out? What are you going to do about it?

I probably need to stop this. There’s a limit to how much unguided rambling I can do. I need to wake up in about six and a half hours anyway.

And, as always,

When in trouble, when in doubt, run in circles, scream and shout.

5 Responses to “I didn’t feel like sleeping tonight anyway”

  1. doctornick40 Says:

    Hey, I have an online chat thing at 8am i need to roll out of bed for.

    C is awesome. I’m glad that I learned pointers in C, with linked lists and whatnot. Didn’t we learn pointers halfassed in CS2 or 3? I don’t think it compares at all to the brain leap that’s necessary to understand C pointers.

    Also, I’m considering linking my blog on my resume. It seems to be pretty fashionable, and I’d want employers to read it, at least to see that I’m interested in what I want to do as a living at other points in my life that aren’t in class.

  2. gatacoma Says:

    We kinda learned pointers in CS3

    Kinda …

    Sorta…

    Not really.

    But kinda.

    In CS3 (I can remember this because my SLI job right now is for CS3) we learned how to implement something that resembles a pointer with respect to data collections. Which, at it’s core, is like a pointer in C or C++, but in the same vain, it’s not even close to handling pointers in applications that use C or C++.

    Pointers (at least to my knowledge) are taught mostly in CS4, where C++ is taught, and where pointer knowledge is kinda necessary to do anything cool with the language. They’re hard at first, and I forgot a lot of stuff in the quarter between CS4 and OS (C++ and C), but it all comes back fairly quickly.

  3. doctornick40 Says:

    You really need to turn off SnapPreview. It’s freakin’ obnoxious.

  4. Harezga Says:

    Stump, I feel your pain with the circuits lab report. It took me longer to do that report than some HDL labs. I’m referring to the difficult ones here…

  5. Jennifer Says:

    You’re such a drama queen


Leave a Reply

